I AM THE RAW

Akashi Kaikyō Bridge,Koube, Japan. 明石海峡大橋

Falling Down by Yoshihiko Wada

I often be asked to review my raw images.

It’ll may help for whom has just started this style of photos, “fine art black and white long exposure”,so here you go.

Photo of the RAW image

D800E 14-24mm f/2.8GED 300sec.F11, iso100, Filters:10+6 stops (total 16 stops) FORMATT HITECH

This is the very raw file from my most recent BW fine art work “Falling down” (I love the movie Falling Down, not related the image though.)

And here is the no-long exposure shot from the same composition. Just before the long exposures one.

no long expousure

ss:1/250, F11, iso100, D800E+NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED

Clouds are pretty dramatic, aren’t they?

And this is another shot, slightly changed the composition, I took after the first long exposure shot.

Raw_alt

camera:D800E 14-24mm f/2.8GED 300sec.F9, iso100,

This was also 300 seconds long exposure shot. The light condition was pretty similar but you can see the expression of the clouds is slightly different.

I preferred the dynamism of motion of clouds which the previous image had.

some may think 300 seconds long exposure make the sky look similarly smooth. Sometime it wolud be pretty same, others wouldn’t.

Each of all the 300 seconds has different expressions of the sky.

Clouds are not a cotton candy, you can never find the same cloud again. Then here is one tip for you and me:

Don’t miss the best clouds!!

(along with the best light)

p.s Actually I missed many times though….

Akashi Kaikyō Bridge,Koube, Japan. 明石海峡大橋

2 thoughts on “I AM THE RAW

  1. Very interesting, my friend!
    I would like to know your oppinion about doing this kind of architecture photography, but using an IR 720 nm filter rather than a ND filter. I’m pretty sure you are much more experienced in this field than me, so your oppinion would be greatly appreciated!

    BTW, I’m Alberto (“Nihon” avatar) from 500px. Hope to see more of your great work!
    Also, thanks for pointing us to your blog.

    And if you don’t mind, I will share your entries in my G+, unless you don’t want it, of course.

    Cya next time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Alberto for visiting my blog.
      I’m afraid but I haven’t used IR 720mm filters so far. When your IR720 mm filters have proper dense, and affect shatter speed, you can achieve long exposure shots. But in terms of calculating proper shatter speed,
      those filters are not used for long exposures, but for IR photography. I strongly recommend for using ND filters first, but there is no limit for photography, you know.

      I don’t mind sharing my post in your G+, Thank you!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

