UNTITLED

Do you care about the title of your image seriously?

I do.  Since titles are important aspect of my images,

I don’t publish my images until a proper title has given to the image.

Meaning of “untitled”

You may argue that an “untitled” gives people some room to think about freely toward the image. If your intention is that manner, “untitled” is probably OK, otherwise you are just lazy to think about your  title of image.

 

Title changes the world

A title changes the perspective.

Example:

20140814-_DSC4799

“UNTITLED” : D600,28mm f10,183sec.

This is a pretty simple long-exposure seascape : one main rock and a few small rocks above.

What the title will you give it?

How about  “the rock “?

You may think “I know! it’s a rock. so what?”
They stop thinking about the image with a obvious material name.

How about “The nose“?

You’re gradually seeing the rock as a nose sticking from the surface, aren’t you?

Instead of giving an obvious material name, how about the title:

[Solitude], [time], [calmness], [infinity]

The subject is so simple that you can chose many options.

Guide people

Giving those title viewers will think about the title, and trying to find something in common with the creator.

With a proper title you can guide viewers to the specific direction.

Just give it “rock” or “untitled”. They just wonder where they should go.

They want to feel something from your work as same as when you saw the scene.

We call it”sympathy”. A proper title can arouse their sympathy

How to make a good title

Tell me!!  I eager to know.

Since English is not my native tongue, making a good English title is always challenging.

So I prefer simple and short titles combining with a few words

Soak in Marsahll by Yoshihiko Wada on 500px.com

Soak in Marshall: To get ideal composition which I wanted, I had to soak in the beach.

Use thesaurus

You often see the title “The beautiful sunset” or “Sunset at the lake” etc.

“Sunset” and “sunrise” are so obvious term that you may avoid using them, and instead you can use a synonym, like:

synonym of “Sunset”

They are still popular terms, however you can combine them with simple words or locations.

Example:

“The last twilight”, ” Twilight to the shadow”, “Night fall at Tokyo”

I am not a poet or didn’t major English literature, so please allow me for poor vocabulary.

You can do far better than me with in any other language.

 

Borrow the titles from a movie or a music

Fortunately or unfortunately there are no property right for titles.

That means you can borrow or steel titles from movies, books and musics, etc..

Although you have to bear in mind that a popular title instantly recall viewers of the original source if they knew it. So please take a moment whether the image really match the title which you are going to take.

So I advise you that instead of using the title as exactly the same,  just give it a little twist.

 

I borrowed the title of image from the movie “EVIL DEAD”(not recent remake, but the original) , then I replaced “dead” to “red”.
The atmosphere of the image fully match the title doesn’t it?

Love it

I feel pretty sorry when I see a great image with the title “untitled”.

Because you are the only one who can give the right title to your images.

You should not abandoned it with giving the name”untitled”.

You don’t name your son “John Doe” or “Mr. Nobody”, do you?

Treat your images like your son or daughter. Give them proper name which

you love, then people will love them too.

BetweeTheEternity_1000px

Between the Eternity

 

One thought on “UNTITLED

  1. 100% AGREED!!! I am right there with you, my friend. I feel that a title is extremely important and something I spend a great deal of time with. Naming my imagery takes much time, but is so important to me that I have an entire “naming workflow” set up that I go through with each of my images.

    The one thing that I need to do, however, is to stop posting them to Facebook before they are titled. I get anxious and want to share them. I don’t put them on my personal website without a title, but I should really stop putting them anywhere until they are titled.

    Great read, my friend. Thank you for sharing this. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

